Single serving Pancakes (and BIG NEWS!!)

Since I last posted there have been some pretty big developments in my life. After a year of internships, part time jobs, retail, temping, working 7 days a week, and being cranky 90% of the time, I am very proud to say I have one full time job. Yes, that means I have weekends off, some health benefits, sick days, and PAID VACATION.

It’s been a long journey – and an unanticipated one at that! I vividly remember telling my college roommate when we were graduating in May 2012 that I would be back living with her in the city in January at the latest. (HA! Oh how naive I was…)

On my first official weekend of two days off in a row – Saturday AND Sunday – I decided to celebrate with one of my favorite foods: pancakes!

Since everyone knows Taylor and I love single serving recipes so much (here, and here), I decided to try out one for my pancakes and it was so worth it. Check out all the deets below:

Single Serving Pancakes (adapted from Alex Like To Cook)

(Note: In my recipe I omitted salt, substituted whole wheat flour for white flour, and cinnamon for nutmeg!)

Ingredients
1/3 cup flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
generous sprinkle of nutmeg
1 egg
1/4 cup milk
1 tsp Canola oil
1/2 tsp vanilla

Directions

IMG_5204

In a medium sized bowl stir together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and nutmeg.

IMG_5198

Then in the same bowl, add egg, milk, vanilla extract, and canola oil. Stir together until smooth.

IMG_5199

IMG_5200

Preheat a non-stick pan (or butter a regular pan) to medium and once the heat under the pan feels evenly distributed, pour in your pancake batter. Cook until the under-sides of your pancakes look golden brown. Flip and continue cooking on the other side.IMG_5201

IMG_5202

Serve with some syrup and fruit and you’re good to go! Enjoy!

IMG_5203

Make sure to follow us on Instagram @latteissues for more updates on our day-to-day lives!

Leave a Reply

