Brussels Sprouts

As we find ourselves on the verge of this brand new year, I’ve been reflecting, a lot, on many things: the different jobs/internships I’ve had this year, the dates I’ve gone on, the new friends I’ve made, and of course, the food I’ve eaten.

But somewhere between reflecting on what I’ve accomplished this past year and the number of burrito bowls from Chipotle I’ve consumed, the one random thought I’ve continually had was “Can People Really Change?”

I mean, we’re about to enter a new year, which means we’ll be bombarded with commercials for losing weight, getting a better job, and quitting smoking. But can we really change?

The answer I’ve come up with so far is that it is possible for people to change…but they have to really want it. You can’t change others, they have to want to change themselves. You can’t tell me “be happy” and I’ll magically become Minnie Mouse or, “I want you to love me” and you’ll automatically have your scruffy dream man. Everyone has to change at their own pace, when they organically and genuinely want to, or it won’t work.

(It’s at this point in the blog I have to take all this serious-talk and relate it back to food. I’m sure you’re all doubting me right now but prepared to be amazed at this seamless transition…)

SPEAKING OF CHANGE, it wasn’t until college I realized that I could learn to love Brussels sprouts. I had grown up believing that Brussels sprouts were the nasty vegetable we were “supposed to hate.” They were usually boiled and bright green and we weren’t allowed to leave the table until all of them had disappeared. (AKA been mashed up and hidden under our pile of mashed potatoes.) But once I got to college and my roommate would roast her Brussels sprouts with other delicious vegetables with a light coat of olive oil and a dash of delicious spices I realized I could change, and with time, could learn to love Brussels sprouts.

As we go into 2014, this is what I want to remember most. The fact that I can change, when I feel ready. Life isn’t a race or competition and when I’m ready, I’ll be ready. Happy and healthy New Year everyone! Stay safe!

Sunny Anderson’s Brussels Sprouts

Ingredients

2 tablespoons butter
4 strips thick cut bacon
1 pound Brussels sprouts, halved
1/2 large onion, chopped
Salt and freshly ground black pepper

IMG_4445

IMG_4446

Cook bacon in a large skillet over medium-high heat until crispy. Remove to a paper towel-lined plate, then roughly chop. In same pan with bacon fat, melt butter over high heat.

IMG_4447

Add onions and Brussels Sprouts and cook, stirring occasionally, until sprouts are golden brown, 8 to 10 minutes. Season with salt and pepper, to taste, and toss bacon back into pan. Serve immediately.

IMG_4448

One thought on “Brussels Sprouts

Leave a Reply

