Lemon Cake

Let us just take a moment to mourn a loss. A loss near and dear to me. The loss of my social life.

This loss is all because of a little show; a little show named Scandal.

I’ve been living under a rock for a few days. Life as I know it as gone a little like this: Job, Scandal, other job, home. Home, job, Scandal, other job, home. Home, Scandal, job, improv class, Scandal, other job, job, Scandal, home.

To ease my way back into Life As The-Rest-of-You Know It, I decided to bake a lemon cake which hopefully I can use to persuade my friends into taking me back so we can go eat at Chipotle and watch Love Actually before the holiday season goes into full swing this week.

This cake is a combination of a Weight Watchers Lemon Cake and Ina Garten’s Lemon Cake. It’s semi-healthy but wholly-delicious and will distract my friends long enough for me to chat about Scandal before they realize what’s going on!

Lemon Cake
Ingredients
2 1/2 cups cake flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
5 tbsp unsalted butter
1 cup sugar
1 large egg
2 large egg whites
1 tsp vanilla
zest of 1 large lemon
juice of 1 large lemon
1 cup sour cream

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a bowl stir together flour, baking powder, and baking soda.

IMG_4218

With an electric mixer, cream together butter (at room temperature) and sugar.
IMG_4219

Once butter and sugar are combined. Add the eggs one by one. Then add vanilla, lemon zest and juice, and the sour cream. Pour batter into your pan and bake for 35-40 minutes, or until the top of the cake is golden.IMG_4220

IMG_4221

For glaze combine equal parts lemon juice and confectioners sugar. Use more or less lemon juice depending on your taste preference.

IMG_4211

Garnish with some raspberries or any fresh fruit and enjoy!!

IMG_4222

PS. Though I’ve been MIA due to Scandal and general life-y things, I’ve still been updating our Instagram! Check us out @latteissues (www.instagram.com/latteissues) to see what we’ve been up to in our day-to-day lives!

Leave a Reply

