Mini Cupcakes

Recently the ratio of busy-ness to stressed-ness in my life has been relatively low. (Which I must say, is a greatly welcomed change.)

I’ve narrowed down the reasoning behind this to two causes:

1. I really enjoy my new job.

2. I’ve increased the cute-ness factor in my life tenfold.

Apparently that’s really all it takes, folks!

Here are some of the cute things in my life right now, so you too can be less stressed:

Tiny Baby Sloth Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=YRJlj8bkx4c

Happiest Dog You’ve Ever Seen: http://adulthoodisokay.tumblr.com/post/46386888349/i-cant-deal-with-how-adorable-this-dog-is

Second Happiest Dog You’ve Ever Seen: http://believed.tumblr.com/post/26327494215/everyone-stop-being-mean-look-at-this-dog-he

This singing cockatiel: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O7D-1RG-VRk

This Instagram page: http://instagram.com/tunameltsmyheart

And finally, My Grandparent’s Puppy:

photo (2)

To take you over the top with adorableness here are some mini cupcakes I made.

****CAUTION: Do not make these mini cupcakes while looking at these cute photos. I haven’t tried it yet and can’t be held accountable for what might happen to you.

Chocolate Mini Cupcakes

Chocolate cake recipe adapted from Gale Gand’s chockablock chocolate cakes

3 cups sugar
2 3/4 cups all purpose flour
1 1/8 cups cocoa powder
2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
2 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 1/2 cups milk
3/4 cup vegetable oil
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups very hot water
Any type of filling ex: raspberry jam, peanut butter, and mini marshmallows

1. Heat the oven to 350 degrees. Line your mini cupcake tin.

2. Sift together the sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Transfer to a mixer fitted with a whisk attachment and blend briefly.

3. Whisk together the eggs, milk, oil, and vanilla extract in a medium bowl. Add to the dry ingredients and mix at low speed for 5 minutes. Gradually add the hot water, mixing at low speed just until combined. The batter will be quite thin.

IMG_3439

IMG_3440

4. Pour the batter halfway into each cupcake liner.

5. Add 1/2 teaspoon of desired adorable filling (ex: peanut butter, raspberry jam, marshmallows)

6. Pour the other half of the batter on top of the filling. (Remember which cupcakes had which filling in them in case of allergies!)

IMG_3441

7. Bake for 15-20 minutes depending on the thickness of your fillings. Enjoy!

(I sort of winged it with the icing for all of these. Sorry I can’t be more specific! I ended up just mixing about 2 tablespoons of the inside filling with about 2 tablespoons of confectioner’s sugar.)

IMG_3442IMG_3443

 

If you end up making these let me know what you put inside! While I’m highly committed to maintaining the high levels of peanut butter in my life right now, I’m always looking for new things to put in my cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

