Rainy Day Corn Chowder

Last Monday I FINALLY had a day off! I celebrated by sleeping until 8:30, watching early morning Bravo, eating toast with peanut butter for breakfast, and then going back to sleep. When I woke up again it was time for lunch so I made some  delicious soup. Then I went to the library, wrote, read, came home, ate dinner, and went to sleep.

I’m not entirely sure, but I think this is what kids these days call “living the dream.”

The only downfall to my day off was the rainy weather which prevented me from frolicking up and down my street, laughing gaily at all the passerbys; putting flowers in their hair and singing songs to the birds.

But I’ll do that on my next day off.

I wasn’t feeling particularly creative with my food so I found a box of Trader Joe’s soup and spiced it up with a few of my own ingredients.

Caroline’s (Well, Trader Joe’s) Corn Chowder

2 cups box Trader Joe’s Creamy Corn and Roasted Pepper Soup
Roasted Red Pepper
Pepper
3/4 cup frozen Corn
1 baked potato

Pour 2 cups of soup into medium sized pot over medium heat.

photo 1

Peel and cube baked potato and dice roasted red pepper. (My potato was already baked from leftovers from the night before. You can bake your potato in the oven or you can also cook it in the microwave by puncturing it with a fork a few times, cook for 4 minutes, flip over and cook for another 4 minutes.)

photo 2

Add potato, red pepper, and frozen corn to soup. Heat through.

photo 3

Add pepper to taste.

Voila! Enjoy!

photo 4

Leave a Reply

