Mother’s Day Pavlova

Happy Mother’s-Day-A-Day-Late everyone! Hope all you moms and grandmoms out there had a wonderful day! This year for Mother’s Day I asked my mom what she would like me to bake (because I’m still too poor to buy gifts) and she mentioned pavlova. I had never had, nor ever made pavlova, and was intrigued. So I bothered her for an entire week until she would buy me the ingredients. (What’s wrong with a little nudging!? It wasn’t Mother’s Day…yet.)

I’m so happy she brought it up because this pavlova ended up being one of my favorite things that I’ve made so far. I adapted it from Martha Stewart and let me just say – that woman knows what she’s doing! The meringue was so chewy, flaky, and delicious that I’m tempted to run downstairs now and get some…but I shall refrain because I need to finish telling you how great my mom is (also, I need to fit into my summer clothes.)

My mom, like so many out there, managed to balance our household while still having a job and raising two children. (Gotta give pops credit too – but it isn’t Father’s Day yet so I won’t get too crazy…) It’s hard to remember to say everyday but thank you for everything you do, mom!

Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Pavlova

Ingredients
4 large egg whites, room temperature
Pinch of salt
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons superfine sugar
1 teaspoon cornstarch
2 teaspoons white-wine vinegar
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 1/4 cups heavy cream for whippingwhipped
Mixed berries (raspberries, blueberries, strawberries)

Directions
Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Using an 8-inch bowl as a guide, trace the perimeter of the bowl onto a sheet of parchment paper. Transfer parchment paper, pencil side down, to a baking sheet. Set aside. (I made four mini’s)

IMG_3259

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, beat egg whites and salt together until glossy peaks form. With mixer running, add sugar in three additions, beating until meringue is stiff and glossy. Sprinkle in cornstarch, vinegar, and vanilla; gently fold to combine.

IMG_3260

so glossy!

so glossy!

Mound the meringue in the center of the 8-inch circle. Using a spatula, evenly spread meringue out towards the edges. Transfer baking sheet to oven and immediately reduce the temperature to 250 degrees. Bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes.

IMG_3262

IMG_3263

Turn off oven and let meringue cool completely in oven. When meringue is cool and completely dry, top with whipped cream and desired fruits.

IMG_3265IMG_3264

IMG_3258

Baby Taylor and her Mom!

IMG_3266

Baby Caroline and her Mom!

In high school my mom gave me a locket that someone had given to her. I wear it around my neck every day with a picture of her inside, just so she can always be close. Love you mommykins!

Leave a Reply

