Mini Lemon Blueberry Muffins

It’s actually Springtime here! Temperatures have been in the 60s-70s all week and even though it’s been raining the last few days I definitely feel like we’ve rounded a corner and it’s going to be warm and sunny from here on out. This means picnics, dresses…and eating healthier.

I know, I know what you’re thinking, “But Caroline, eating healthier SUCKS.”

Oh, you’re not thinking that? Must just be me…

But sometimes eating healthier isn’t about what you eat, it’s about how much of it you eat! So last week when my baked little donut holes failed, my mom went out and bought me a mini muffin tin to experiment with. While thinking of things to bake I realized that I can make all the same unhealthy cupcakes and muffins I love, just smaller! So far it’s worked out really well… except that I eat more than if they were regular sized. But whatever, it’s a work in progress.

Ingredients
2 cups, plus 1/2 tablespoon flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg
1/2 stick butter
3/4 cup sour cream
zest and juice of one lemon (medium-ish)
1/2 cup blueberries (I used dried, but fresh and frozen work too)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350F. Line mini tin with mini liners. (SO CUTE)

In a medium bowl mix the flour and baking powder.

In electric mixer cream the sugar and butter. Once combined mix in egg and sour cream.

IMG_3224

Zest a lemon and squeeze its juice and add to wet ingredients.

IMG_3225

Using a small ice cream scoop or spoon, spoon out a tablespoon of batter into each mini muffin liner.

IMG_3226

Bake for 15-20 minutes. But keep a close eye on them as they’re small and you don’t want them to burn!

IMG_3228

IMG_3227

2 thoughts on “Mini Lemon Blueberry Muffins

  1. such perfect mini muffins 🙂 i can’t waaait for summer. winter/spring has been dragging on for way too long in colorado haha.

    • aw thank you! well, i mean right now i’m staring out my window at the pouring rain…but i swear it was sunny this morning so at least there’s hope!

Leave a Reply

