The Perks of Being Underemployed

Yesterday when I was on the train on the way into work I ran into one of my friends from high school. We hadn’t seen each other much in the last few years and even though everything’s changed…nothing had changed. She was telling me about her job, this play she wants to see, and how she finally started looking for an apartment to move into with her friend. I did my usual spiel about how jealous I was when she stopped me and said “but living at home is kinda, really great! Awful, but great!”

And you know what? She’s totally right.

Because if I wasn’t living at home right now I’d have to spend money on groceries and rent. I’d have to do my own laundry. If I wasn’t living at home – who would I scream to help me when I saw a bug? And who would make me soup and take care of me when I’m sick? Hm? No one, that’s who.

So thanks mom and dad, for letting me live with you rent free and for making me soup when I’m sick!

French Onion Soup
For 3-4 people (depending on size of bowls)

Ingredients
2 cups peeled and slice onions (about 3 large yellow onions)
2 tablespoons butter
1 tablespoon flour
1 quart broth (chicken, beef, or vegetable)
3-4 thick slices of bread, lightly toasted
1 cup shredded cheese (Swiss, mozzarella, or muenster)
Salt and pepper

Melt butter in a stock pot. Add sliced onions and sauté over medium heat until they get soft and golden, about 15 minutes. Sprinkle with flour and stir for a few minutes. Add broth, salt and pepper, and simmer for about 30 minutes, uncovered.
Preheat oven (or toaster oven) to 400 degrees.  Place slices of bread into small individual ovenproof bowls (about 6-inch diameter). Ladle broth and onions over the bread. Sprinkle cheese over the top. Bake on an oven tray for about 20 minutes or until cheese is melted.

photo 2 (5) photo 1 (5)

5 thoughts on “The Perks of Being Underemployed

    • haha right!? my dad knows what’s up when I’m upstairs and he hears “DAAAAAAAAADDDD COME QUICCCCKKKKKKK!!!”

Leave a Reply

