Homemade Pizza

Dear Readers,

It has come to the point in our blog-relationship where I can start sharing some details about my personal life with you: I’m Single.

I know it must come as a HUGE shock seeing as I’ve already mentioned it in this blog entry, and this one, and of course this one.

Well, I guess it’s not that shocking. Actually, most of my friends right now are single. A lot of us are balancing 2-3 jobs, worrying about our future, and eating our feelings so  there really isn’t that much time to devote to snagging us a hot, sensitive, flannel-wearing  boyfriend. But that doesn’t mean I’ve completely given up  and have actually been going on dates semi-regularly now since January.

Let me tell you: dating is a weird thing. It really is. Basically, you meet this stranger either for dinner or drinks, and you look at each other and ask each other stupid questions for an hour or two. As if it weren’t enough to worry about how I look, what I’m going to wear, what I’m going to talk about, and if he’ll realize that I’m dazzling and charming, I also have to worry about what I’m going to eat. Because as we all know…I love to eat.

So, back in January I went on a pizza date with this guy I had just met. It was the type of place where you don’t order individual slices, but rather an entire pizza to share. So we’re looking at our menus and I ask him “what kinds of food do you like on your pizza?” He responds, “sausage.” I say, “anything else?” He says, “no.” I say, “hmm well I really like vegetables on my pizza.” He says, “okay.” I say, ” would you want to go half and half? Half veggies half sausage?” To which, of course, he responds, “no.”

Seriously, bro? Needless to say the date was pretty much over for me after that. I couldn’t even focus when we were talking about our favorite movies and what our childhoods were like. I mean, not letting me get what I want on my pizza is like number 3 on my list of dealbreakers, so I could tell it just wasn’t going to work out.

I guess it just goes to show that you’re going to meet a lot of duds before you meet a good guy. But I’m not the type of gal to wait around for a man, and I’m certainly not the type who needs a guy to get her pizza. (I do however need one to kill bugs though…) So in honor of this gentleman I decided to make my own pizza at home with every type of vegetable I could get my hands on.

**Pizza is an EXCELLENT meal to make at home for underemployed folks because you can get a lot of bang for your buck. Pizza dough can be bought for like $2/$3, and a can of tomato sauce, cheese, and veggies can be purchased for pretty cheap as well. Plus the pizza will last you for a long time. Unless you’re me and then it will be gone in two days. OOPS.

Homemade Pizza

Ingredients (these won’t be exact because it depends how you like your pizza. extra cheesy? extra tomato-ey? you decide!)

one ball of pizza dough (this can be bought from your local supermarket or you can make it using this recipe)
(at least) 1/2 jar tomato sauce
shredded mozzarella
olive oil
toppings: eggplant, onion, sundried tomatoes, roasted red pepper, basil (or anything, really)

Directions
Preheat your oven to 450 and sprinkle a baking sheet or pizza stone with corn meal.

IMG_3076

Place dough in a bowl to reach room temperature before kneading it, this will make it easier to work with. In the meantime, prepare your veggies for the pizza. Thinly slice your eggplant and onions. Then pour two tablespoons of olive oil into a pan set on medium heat.

IMG_3074

Sautee eggplant first until golden brown. (Add more olive oil as needed.) Once the eggplant is done cook the onions in olive oil until caramelized. (I added a little butter to mine to make them extra caramelized.)
IMG_3073

When you’re ready to roll out your pizza, be very gentle with it. Don’t get too handsy (I wish one of my dates I recently went on knew that…yikes) because then the dough won’t roll out well (you could say that again.) Knead the dough and press it into a large circle. I like to put tons of toppings on my pizza so I bake the dough without anything on it for approximately 6 minutes first.

Then add desired amount of sauce, cheese, and vegetables/toppings. Bake for an additional 10-15 minutes. Enjoy!IMG_3075

I had some extra dough so OF COURSE I had to make a dessert pizza. How could I not? I baked the dough first for a few minutes, then I put some milk chocolate chunks on it and baked for five minutes. Once the dough was golden brown and the chocolate was melted, I added cut up bananas and strawberries, sprinkled it with powdered sugar, and tried really hard not to eat the entire thing in one sitting. (Spoiler Alert: I totally did.)
IMG_3077

2 thoughts on “Homemade Pizza

  1. Pingback: Panini | latte issues

  2. Pingback: Panini | latte issues

Leave a Reply

