We’ve Been Nominated for the LIEBSTER BLOG AWARD

We’ve been nominated by the lovely ladies over at 20’s Inc for the Liebster Blog Award! Thanks girls! (Here’s a little about the award if you’re wondering.)

To accept this nomination, we need to answer 11 questions that 20’s Inc posed of their nominees, nominate 11 other blogs, and ask them to answer 11 questions.

So here we go!

What inspired you to start your blog?
Taylor: This soup. While unemployed and living at home with my parents, I cooked all the time. One night last October, I made this soup for my parents. Except after I pureed the (very hot) soup in the (full) blender, an explosion occurred. Hot sweet potato soup went all over me and all over the kitchen. I was so upset, all I wanted was Roasted Sweet Potato & Quinoa Soup! That led to one of my many pre-life crisis moments which included tears. I turned to Caroline for support and that’s when we started talking about chronicling our unemployed lives and our adventures in the kitchen.

Caroline: Yeah, I remember that night really clearly actually. Taylor texted me about her soup (RIP) and I was bummed about still being unemployed so we just immediately started thinking of names for the blog (too bad Wingin’ It was already taken…) and the next day signed up for WordPress and started writing!

If you could meet one person in the world, who would it be?
Caroline: Wait can they be dead? Dead:  Napoleon, Neil Armstrong, John Adams, or Freddie Mercury. Alive: Steven Spielberg.

Taylor: Ahhh I don’t know, it would probably have to be someone in the music world (there’s too many to choose from).

Where do you see your blog in 5 years?
Caroline: Ideally, it will no longer be about ME being underemployed, because if that’s still the case in 5 years, I don’t even want to know that Caroline. It would be nice if it could turn into more of a forum for people going through the same thing to share their stories and learn from what Taylor and I went through.

What message do you have for your readers?
Taylor: Like a said in my guest post for 20 Somethings in 2013, don’t be afraid to make a change or take a risk!

Where do you typically write?  From the comforts of your couch?  A cafe?
Caroline: I write everywhere! Usually I write a first draft in my bed at night and then I edit it the next morning at work. Sometimes though I write in random places to try to get out of a normal routine. This morning, I wrote in a Starbucks in Midtown and I think I wrote a post last week in a park.

Taylor: With my busy schedule, I cook most of the recipes featured on Latte Issues during the weekends and then write the blog posts at my desk. That makes me sound organized but trust me, I’m not!

Where do you find inspiration for your posts?
Taylor: Life! Talking to my friends who are also recent grads/underemployed/trying to figure out their lives. And other blogs (we will share a list of our favorites soon!).

Caroline: Yeah, pretty much my everyday life. Just because we’re underemployed certainly does not mean we aren’t crazy busy. There’es inspiration everywhere you just have to let it in.

What advice do you have for aspiring bloggers?
Taylor: Try to have some sort of schedule and post content regularly. If you are writing about something you are passionate about, that shouldn’t be a problem.

Caroline: Yup. Ditto. ^.

What’s your favorite memory from your twenties?
Taylor: Well I’m only 22 so I hope my best memory hasn’t been made yet. That would be kind of sad.

Caroline: Same -that would be really sad. My last two years of college were pretty great though. Lots and lots of memories! I’m a very nostalgic person.

Coffee or wine?
Caroline: Okay. Here’s the thing: coffee and wine give me two SERIOUSLY different reactions. I can count on one hand the number of times I had coffee in college. (5.) And I can tell you exactly what went down each time I drank it because drinking coffee is essentially like getting drunk for me.  Coffee makes me crazy. And not like, normal crazy but shakey insane crazy, and I cannot be trusted when I drink it. And wine makes me so sleepy.

Taylor: Coffee. Iced. Caffeine does crazy things to me too but I love the taste. No cream or sugar for me.

Favorite song of the moment: 
Taylor: As someone who has a music blog, this is so difficult! I’d say “Gasoline” by Alpine. 

Caroline: I listen to a lot of embarrassing stuff. Recently Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me has been playing non-stop on my phone. I wish I could explain why, but there really is no explaining why I do the things I do.

Words you live by:__________________________.
Taylor: “Go confidently in the direction of your dreams! Live the life you’ve imagined.” -Henry David Thoreau

Caroline: This doesn’t answer the question because they’re not words I live by, but recently I can’t stop thinking about this poem:

“here is the deepest secret nobody knows (here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud and the sky of a tree called life; which grows higher than the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart) i carry your heart (i carry it in my heart)” ee cummings

The Blogs We Nominate:

20 Somethings Land
20somethings in 2013
Elle Bakes
Life on a Branch
Liberty on Less
Miracles Happen Once in Awhile
College Forever!
Twenty Something Condition
The Beginning of Things
Twenty Seven Things: Up In the Air
Healthy Girl and the City

Our 11 Questions:
1. What inspired you to start your blog?
2. What’s been the biggest benefit so far of writing your blog?
3. How do you keep yourself motivated to keep blogging?
4. What was your first blog post about?
5. Any hobbies? (Other than the internet of course!)
6. Favorite memory?
7. One of your bucket list items:
8. What advice would you give to somebody who’s just starting their blog?
9. What is something you’ve done in the past few years that you’re really proud of?
10. Dream job:
11. Favorite food/recipe?

Leave a Reply

