Sesame Peanut Butter Noodles

There comes a point in your post grad life when you realize you need to start actually saving money. This point usually comes after you’ve been avoiding looking at your bank account, because you know you’ve been spending a lot of money, but have somehow managed to convince yourself all your money would still magically be waiting for you unspent…

I’m at this point right now.

I don’t know what happened! Well, actually I do. There was that trip to Chipotle last week, and this week, (and probably next week.) Then there was the dress from work I just bought (but it was 50% off! I had to!) And then there were both payments for my school loans (but I’m being RESPONSIBLE!)

I’m having a difficult time  saving my money right now because I want to go out with all my employed friends and have fun and be merry, but at the same time I eventually want to move out of my parent’s house. If I don’t spend any money, I’ll be sad and lonely, but if I keep spending at the rate I am right now, I’ll still be living at home running this blog for the next 10 years. (Which I know you’d all be happy with, because you love it so much, right?)

Someone help me out! Is everyone going through this right now? Is there some magical money saving tip I’m missing?

This recipe here was a result of me needing to figure out more exciting things to bring to work for lunch. It’s so easy to just want to buy something for lunch because its quicker and easier. But if I were to buy lunch for $10 three days a week that’s $30 a week and $120 a month! $120 I could be spending on clothing! I mean…”saving.”

Peanut Butter Soba Noodles with veggies

Ingredients
3 tbsp creamy peanut butter
2 tbsp rice vinegar
1 1/2 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp water
2 tsp dark sesame oil
1 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
1/2 tsp garlic powder
4 oz uncooked soba noodles (or regular linguini)
any veggies you like! (snow peas, green pepper, red pepper, cucumber, scallion, cilantro)

Directions
Fill a medium sized pot with water and set flame to boil.

Meanwhile, in a medium sized bowl whisk together peanut butter, rice vinegar, soy sauce, water, sesame oil, sugar, red pepper flakes, and garlic powder.

IMG_3001

IMG_3003

Once the water is boiling add in the soba noodles (or regular pasta). Soba noodles take about 5-6 minutes (for regular pasta follow instructions on the box.)

IMG_3002

Drain and rinse under very cold water. Then add to the peanut butter mixture and mix together.

Finely chop up some of your favorite vegetables. I used snow peas and green pepper because that’s all we had in my fridge. Feel free to use anything from red pepper to cucumbers, scallion etc! Mix in veggies and enjoy!

IMG_3004IMG_3006

And so my dear friends it is with a heavy heart that peanut butter week comes to an end. Hope you all had as much fun as I did! I don’t know about you but I’m reaaaaaally excited to hear about SXSW from a certain somebody!

Leave a Reply

