Peanut Butter and Chocolate Cupcakes

So from the texts, photos, and Instagram updates I’ve been getting from Taylor, it looks like she’s in full swing at SXSW, which means this week I am officially in charge of the blog. Muahahahaha! Usually when I’m left unsupervised I will watch cat videos until my eyes bleed, but I’m going to take this opportunity to do something I’ve always wanted to do on the blog: PEANUT BUTTER WEEK. Yes my friends, an entire week of recipes dedicated to The One and Only Peanut Butter.

My relationship with peanut butter is a very special one. After all, it was peanut butter who got me through my first year of college. It was there when I needed to bring a quick lunch to class. It was there in the middle of the night when I was stress eating and  it seemed like I would never get my paper finished by the morning. Heck, it was even there after it was gone when empty peanut butter jars helped me organize my desk. So thank you peanut butter, I will never forget what you’ve done for me. This one’s for you, buddy.

I adapted these Chocolate and Peanut Butter cupcakes from Ina Garten. The batter for these cupcakes was so unbelievably good that I actually ate a good portion of it before it even made it in the oven. It was like chocolate mousse! (I have no shame.) These cupcakes are a classic for me and I make them all the time for my friends and family – definitely check them out. AND make sure to stay tuned this week for more peanut butter recipes!

Ingredients
6 tablespoons unsalted butter at room temperature
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup light brown sugar, packed
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup sour cream
1 cup flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
12 tablespoons-ish peanut butter

1/2 cup (smooth) peanut butter
3/4 cup confectioner’s sugar
1/3 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon milk
2 tablespoons butter room temperature

**This recipe only makes 12 cupcakes but can easily be doubled to make the full 24.

Preheat oven to 350F. With an electric mixer cream the butter and 2 sugars on high speed until light and fluffy. Lower speed to medium add egg and vanilla. Then mix in milk and sour cream one at a time. In another bowl sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt. On low speed add flour mixture in thirds to the wet ingredients.

IMG_2971

Line a cupcake tin with paper liners. Pour in half the amount you would normally put in for a cupcake. Then add a tablespoon or so of peanut butter to the middle of each cupcake. (**I used Trader Joe’s creamy peanut butter. But in the past I’ve used Skippy or Jif. I find the Skippy or Jif peanut butters are a little more substantial (read: have more chemicals?) so they hold up better when the cupcake is baked, whereas the creamy thin peanut butters get a little more incorporated into the batter. Both are still amazing though.) Then pour the other half of the cupcake batter on top of each cupcake. Bake for 20-24 minutes.

IMG_2972

IMG_2975

after the second half of the batter was added

For the icing put all the ingredients in a bowl and blend with an electric mixer. While the cupcakes are cooling, place icing in the refrigerator so it can get harder and a little easier to ice with. NOM NOM NOM, ENJOY!

IMG_2973

IMG_2974

6 thoughts on “Peanut Butter and Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. These look delicious! I love peanut butter too, though I do try to keep an eye out for portion size while I am eating it. It’s so easy to shovel down 600 calories in two or three spoonfuls. Sigh. These cupcakes look amazing though. I might give the recipe a go during spring break if I am motivated to do anything besides lay on my parent’s couch and watch Gilmore Girls reruns. 😉

    • Thank you! Let me know if you do make them! And you’re so right about portion control. In my love affair with peanut butter I may have blocked out how it made me a little bit…rounder, freshman year. But whatever, I can forgive! hah

Leave a Reply

