Lemon Squares

Not much going on since last I posted about those Nutella brownies. Anyone try them yet? Still the same ole’ grind – going to work, coming home, eating dinner, going to sleep – rinse and repeat. I ain’t complaining though; things have developed into a nice little routine. But not really any new stuff going on.

Except for the fact that I had a transcendental experience last week.

No biggie.

I made these lemon squares that I’m about to show you and I have never experienced so much joy in my twenty two years on this planet as when I ate one of these squares (read: seven of these squares…)

Even my parents agreed that these gooey joy bars, as I now so affectionately call them, were on another level. I’m not entirely sure what made them so incredibly delectable. Maybe it was the sugary and tart lemony topping, or the fact that the crust was so light and flaky in some spots and candied in others from the sugar? Whatever it was, these lemon bars have forever changed me. Whenever I think about them I feel calmer and more in harmony with the universe. They have put me in touch with my inner lemon. That doesn’t sound right. Inner Liz Lemon? Whatever, enjoy!

Lemon Squares (adapted from Williams-Sonoma Kids Cookies – because yes, I’m still totally 8 years old.)

Ingredients

1 large lemon
7 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons all purpose flour
1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon confectioner’s sugar
2 eggs
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
big pinch of salt

1. Preheat the oven to 350 F. Zest the entire lemon. Squeeze the juice from the lemon and measure 3 tablespoons. Set aside

2. Put the butter in the 8 inch square cake pan. Put the pan in the oven until the butter melts, about 5 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool about 5 minutes. Sprinkle the 1 cup flour and the 1/4 cup confectioner’s sugar over the melted butter. Using a fork, mix the ingredients to form a dough. Using your hands press the dough evenly over the bottom of the pan. Return the pan to the oven. Bake the crust for 15 minutes.

IMG_2906

IMG_2907

IMG_2909

3. Meanwhile, put the eggs and granulated sugar into a medium mixing bowl. With an electric mixer set on medium speed, beat until the mixture is well blended. With the mixer set on low speed, beat in the remaining 2 tablespoons flour, the lemon zest, the 3 tablespoons lemon juice, baking powder, and salt until well combined.

4. When the crust is done transfer the pan to the cooling rack. Spread the topping over the hot crust. Return to the oven and bake until pale brown, 20 to 25 minutes. Cool.

5. Sprinkle remaining confectioner’s sugar onto the top of the lemon squares. Cut into 16 pieces, stuff your face, and TRANSCEND.

IMG_2908

Leave a Reply

