Crepes

I am one of the most nostalgic people I know. I refuse to throw anything away for fear of forgetting the memories associated with it. I’ve only this year started throwing out things from high school. (HIGH. SCHOOL.) And as embarrassing as it is to admit, I’m still sporting the blue leopard print pajama bottoms I got as a present from like, middle school. But I will never throw those bad boys away and will wear them until the very last string keeps them together. Even, then I’ll probably sew them back up. So yeah, I would say I’m a wee bit nostalgic.

Which is why I’m big on family traditions. One tradition in my family is crepes. We’ve been eating crepes in my family for as long as I can remember. My grandmother would make them and passed the recipe on to my dad who would make them for us. Sunday mornings were crepe day during my childhood which, now that I think about it…probably explains a lot. (Though it doesn’t quite explain how I still fit into those pjs from so long ago…)

Crepes are  magical things! They can be sweet, savory, or even a mix of both. What other food can you think of that accomplishes all that? Plus they’re French. So that automatically makes them (and therefore you) like, super fancy.

Homemade Crepe Recipe

Ingredients

1 egg
2 tablespoons milk
1 cup flour
1 cup water
1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1. In a large bowl whisk together egg and milk until the two are light and blended.
2. Add in small portions of the flour a little bit at a time. Make sure to whisk so that there are no lumps before adding in the rest of the flour.

IMG_2747
3. Add in most of the water. Test consistency of the batter to see if it coats the back of a spoon. It should look like light cream. If it’s thin enough, then you’re good – if not, add the rest of the water.
4. (Now here’s the “difficult” part) Coat a pan with butter or cooking spray. Using a ladle pour the batter in the pan. Make sure to pour the batter slowly and as you’re pouring tilt the pan so that the batter is spread evenly and thinly coating the pan.

Sometimes you get a little carried away with the batter. But whatever, they can't all be perfect!

Sometimes you get a little carried away with the batter. But whatever, they can’t all be perfect!

5. Cook until the sides of the crepe are peeling away from the pan. Use a fork to check the underside for browning. When ready flip the crepe and cook the other side till lightly golden.

IMG_2743

IMG_2742

IMG_2741

My favorite type of filling to put in the crepes is cinnamon sugar and syrup. (SO HEALTHY, RIGHT?) But you can put anything in there! Peanut butter, nutella, banana, or whipped cream if you’re going the dessert route. Or avocado, chicken, salad, cheeses, if you want to go more savory. Let us know what you guys put inside of your crepes!

Leave a Reply

