Low-Fat Pancakes

Have you ever found yourself in a situation where you’re stuck in a very small space with someone you don’t like very much? Maybe you’re stuck waiting to cross the street and you run into your ex? Or maybe you’re put in a group project with the annoying class snob? Perhaps you’re trapped in a broken elevator with your mortal enemy AKA the dude who lives in your building who never holds the doors open for you even as your running toward him screaming ‘WAIT, PLEASE, PLEASE WAITTTTT!!”? Whatever the circumstances may be, this run-in could be unbearable; it might even break you. I should know because the other day I was trapped in the very small break room at work with my nemesis – a box of munchkins from Dunkin Donuts.

I know, I KNOW what you’re thinking: “that doesn’t sound too bad! Harmless! I love munchkins!” But it was anything but harmless because I was alone in the break room with no one to judge me for eating 2 or 3 or 8 donuts. In fact, no one would even know it was me who had eaten them because coworkers had their breaks before and after mine. I could have gorged myself on these glorious doughy balls of joy and no one would ever have to know….except for me.

That’s when I started researching fruit and vegetable juice cleanses.

I’m still not entirely sure if I’m going to do one. I’m mostly just afraid that I’ll get a headache on the first day and give up. But I’ll do a little more investigating and keep you posted. Anyone ever done a juice cleanse before? Any tips?

The next day for breakfast I decided that instead of my cleanse I’d try to at least eat a little healthier, but I had a craving for fluffy pancakes – honestly my life is just so hard  sometimes. Thankfully the internet had the answer to my problems and I found this recipe which used applesauce to lighten the pancakes (and therefore…me.)

Weight Watchers Pancakes

These are the ingredients I ended up using:

3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/2 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 cup skim milk, with 1/2 tsp orange juice mixed in
1 egg white, lightly beaten
1/2 tablespoon cinnamon
sprinkling of nutmeg
MAPLE SYRUP (yum.)

1 Mix all ingredients until smooth.
2 Note: Batter will be kinda thick. If it is too thick for you, add a tablespoon of water at a time until desired consistency.
3 Heat a large skillet or griddle that has been sprayed with non-stick butter flavored cooking spray.
4 Spoon two good sized heaping tablespoon fulls of the batter into the skillet per pancake and spread out slightly. Let cook like a regular pancake and then flip, allowing to cook another minuet or so. Serve!

**I added less than a tablespoon of cinnamon because I thought it would be too much. I also added in some nutmeg, which tasted mighty scrumptious with all the maple syrup I poured on top…

IMG_2631

IMG_2630IMG_2629

Leave a Reply

