Lazy Sunday

Most weekends I take the time to make something sweet and special for brunch, like french toast or pancakes. This weekend I woke up and wanted something healthy so I decided to look for a new granola recipe. I love my mom’s version of granola but I’ve been making it quite a bit lately and wanted something new. I found this simple recipe and was intrigued by the use of uncooked quinoa. The granola didn’t cluster as much as I like but the quinoa added a different texture and crunch that paired nicely with my bowl of greek yogurt.

I also want to take this opportunity to introduce my favorite kitchen utensil, Piggy. When I spent a summer interning in New York City, I had limited kitchen supplies so Piggy was involved in the process of cooking all my meals and he has been with me ever since. And yes, even my friends refer to him as Piggy.

IMG_2465

Simple Granola

2 cup whole rolled oats
1 cup quinoa (uncooked)
1 cup almonds, chopped
1/2 cup dried cranberries
1/2 cup golden raisins
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/3 cup canola oil
1/4 cup water

Preparation Instructions

Mix dry ingredients (oats, quinoa, craisins, raisins, almonds, cinnamon, salt).

IMG_2452

Add in wet ingredients (honey, oil, water, vanilla) and stir until everything is mixed.

IMG_2453

IMG_2465

Spread out onto a baking sheet (I used parchment paper but an uncovered cookie sheet would be fine as well) and bake it at 225 for 60 minutes.

IMG_2457

IMG_2460

IMG_2466

Serve with milk or yogurt and enjoy!

(Thanks to Hungry Hippo for the recipe, Ben Howard for the jams, and my pjs for making it a successful Sunday brunch!)

One thought on “Lazy Sunday

  1. Pingback: PUMPKIN WEEK: Granola | latte issues

Leave a Reply

