Nutella Obsession

I don’t think I can fully explain my love for Nutella. While studying abroad in Italy, we ate Nutella every day. We ate it straight out of the jar, on toast, as a topping for dessert pizza (yes Nutella pizza is actually a thing), or as a dip for the dry Italian chocolate chip cookies we found at the store (which we later found out was a cereal…). When I didn’t have Nutella in my apartment, I could always go upstairs to visit Caroline and steal some of her stash 🙂 It’s been over a year since I’ve had Nutella but when I saw this recipe, I knew I had to make these adorable little pies right away.

Nutella Pie Pops

Ingredients

200 g of flour (gluten free or regular)
pinch of salt
200 g of butter
50 ml of cold water
nutella
1 egg lightly beaten with a splash of milk
granulated sugar to sprinkle

Preparation Instructions

Mix flour and salt in a bowl. Pinch together butter and flour mixture until grainy. Put into a chilled bowl. Add cold water and pinch together gently until a dough forms. Knead until just combined. Wrap dough in plastic and chill for at least 2 hours.

IMG_2275 IMG_2276 IMG_2287

Heat oven to 350F and line a sheet with parchment paper. Roll out dough on a floured surface to about a 1/8 in thickness  Using a small circular cookie cutter (or wine glass in my case) cut out as many circles as possible. Press remaining dough together and then roll out and repeat.

IMG_2289 IMG_2285  

Scoop nutella (I used some berries as well) on one circle of the dough, leaving an edge.

IMG_2291

Brush the edge with the egg wash and top with another dough circle. Press together edges with fork. Brush top with egg wash and sprinkle with sugar. Feel free to get creative with designs on the top crust, mine weren’t perfect but stil looked pretty!

IMG_2298

IMG_2293

Place on a baking sheet and bake for 15-25 minutes or until golden brown. Try not to eat them all in one sitting 🙂

IMG_2304

Leave a Reply

