Simplicity

When I lived at home, I loved experimenting and making extravagant dishes for my family. Cooking for 1 is a bit different. I prefer using simple recipes and fewer ingredients because 1)it’s less expensive and 2) there’s less clean-up to do (ps I now fully appreciate the fact that my mom used to clean-up after me). Here’s a simple recipe for roasted potatoes that I paired with chicken and an easy spinach side dish. When I made my potatoes, I didn’t actually follow a recipe since I was making such a small batch but this one is pretty close to what I did.

Garlic Roasted Potatoes (serves 8)

3 pounds small red or white potatoes
1/4 cup good olive oil
1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
2 tablespoons minced garlic (6 cloves)
2 tablespoons minced fresh parsley

Preparation Instructions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Cut the potatoes in half or quarters and place in a bowl with the olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic; toss until the potatoes are well coated.

IMG_2239

Transfer the potatoes to a sheet pan and spread out into 1 layer.

IMG_2240

Roast in the oven for 45 minutes to 1 hour or until browned and crisp. Flip twice with a spatula during cooking in order to ensure even browning. Remove the potatoes from the oven, toss with parsley, season to taste, and serve hot.

IMG_2245

(Since I had some potatoes leftover, I made this for breakfast the next day)

For a simple dessert, I coated some blackberries in sugar and let them sit for a couple hours. The result was a sweet treat!

IMG_2256

One thought on “Simplicity

  1. I can vouch for the huge change of cooking at home and cooking for myself (or others). I loved cooking for my dad, he foot the bill, and he cleaned up after me, and he absolutely loved everything I cooked – no matter how out of the ordinary it may be! Now, I can’t cook all that I used to because I can’t afford it, and my fiancee isn’t too crazy about a lot of foods…but, I’m slowly working on him!

Leave a Reply

