Test Kitchen

Settling into a new city takes time and the ability to adjust. In the last couple of weeks I’ve had to deal with things like figuring out which grocery store carries my gluten-free necessities, how to get to these stores (I can’t tell you how many times I’ve gotten lost), the way people drive (dare I say I prefer aggressive New England drivers?), and other daily activities you don’t think about when you’re used to an area. So nothing too bad but getting used to my kitchen has been an interesting experience. I was spoiled living at home with a large and fully equipped kitchen. My apartment’s kitchen is slightly smaller and has its quirks. For example, check out my oven!

IMG_2212

Oops, seems like the dishwasher is in the way but no worries.

IMG_2211

Just have to open the dishwasher and you’re all set! Ok, so I can’t complain. I have a dishwasher which is glorious.

(Side note- I contacted my landlord because after 3 days in the apartment, I still couldn’t figure out how to start the dishwasher. It’s controlled by a light switch which obviously has to be turned on for the dishwasher to work. I swear I have a college degree…)

Also, the oven functions. Check out these peanut butter cookies I made!

IMG_2213

Pretty right?? Just take a look at this angle…

IMG_2216

Ok so maybe the oven works a little too well. In time I will know all the little quirks of my kitchen and will be able cook a full meal with no issues. Until then, I will have to settle with eating burnt cookies. Here’s the simple recipe I used which only requires 3 ingredients. Perfect for someone who doesn’t have a fully stocked pantry!

Peanut Butter Cookies 

Ingredients

1 cup of peanut butter (natural works best)
1 cup of sugar (you can mix it up and use 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 regular)
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla (optional)

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line baking sheets with parchment paper.
Combine the peanut butter, white sugar and egg. Mix until smooth.
Drop spoonfuls of dough onto the prepared baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 6 to 8 minutes.

IMG_2206 IMG_2207

IMG_2209 IMG_2210

Leave a comment