The Beginning

A week later, I’m in my new home! During the trip I craved a lot of sweets which led me to think about my sweet tooth.

Growing up, we were never a big “sweets” family. I rarely craved dessert and was content with not having dessert after dinner.

Clearly, that is not the case anymore. So when did I develop a sweet tooth? I blame it on college. College dining halls have come a long way since my parents went to school. Campus dining is now a selling point when it comes to choosing a school. While touring campuses, I never paid too much attention to the dining options. Once I was living on campus, that became a different story. Going to a school in the south was a bit of a culture shock for me, especially the food. Our dining hall offered all the southern comfort dishes you could think of and a variety of other options. In the beginning, it was fun being able to pick from all the choices. And then a month went by and then I began to regret only having 1 dining hall and a few fast food options (the number of times I ate at Subway sophomore year is probably what led me to become gluten-free).

When nothing at the dining hall seemed appetizing, there was always dessert. A whole section devoted to cookies, brownies, cakes, ice cream, pies, and so many goodies. Our group of friends would frequently make “dessert explosions” a.k.a plates filled with way too many treats all mixed together. Dessert became the one thing I could count on being edible.

It’s still something I look forward to, but once or twice a week, not every day. I’m happy to be able to share the results of my cravings with you all and I don’t think my parents mind all the treats either 🙂

Gluten Free Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients:

1/4 cup butter
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cups brown sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1¼ teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
pinch of nutmeg
1 cup peanut butter
3 cups rolled oats (gluten free)
6 oz chocolate chips
1/2 cup chopped pecans

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 350. Cream together the butter and sugars in the bowl of an electric mixer until fluffy. Add the eggs, vanilla, baking soda, cinnamon, salt and nutmeg. Mix. Add peanut butter and mix.

Add the oats, chocolate chips and pecans. Mix slowly until combined.

Scoop about a teaspoon of dough onto a greased or parchment-covered cookie sheet. Bake 10-12 minutes until lightly brown at edges. Remove and let cool on wire rack.

if you give a moose a cookie?

3 thoughts on “The Beginning

  1. Pingback: I Can’t Believe It’s Not Ice Cream | latte issues

Leave a Reply

