Sweet Tooth

My vacation from sweets didn’t last very long. I just can’t help my cravings! In order to please my parents and not tempt them with dozens of treats, I made a recipe for 2 cupcakes Caroline featured on the blog awhile ago. This particular night I was craving chocolate so I tweaked the recipe a bit. I love the pairing of chocolate and raspberry so for the topping, I made a raspberry icing and then drizzled some melted dark chocolate on top of that. It was lick your spoon good. I even let my parents share one.

One Bowl Cupcakes for Two

1 egg white
2 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons butter, melted
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
1/4 cup flour (all purpose gluten free or regular)
1/4 heaping teaspoon of baking powder
pinch of salt
2-3 tablespoons milk

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a muffin pan with 2 liners.

In a bowl, add egg white and sugar and whisk until combined. Add melted butter and stir until mixed. Add flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt and stir until smooth. Stir in milk. Divide batter equally between the 2 cupcake liners (you could probably fit them into 3 if you wanted. My 2 cupcakes were pretty big).

Bake at 350 for 12-15 minutes, or until cake is set. Let cool completely, then frost as desired.

Icing

2 tablespoons of raspberry jam
2 tablespoons of confectioners sugar
milk

In a bowl, add raspberry jam and confectioners sugar and mix until combined. Stir in a little milk to thin the icing until you reach the consistency you want.

These cupcakes were so good I kind of wish I would have made more!

Leave a Reply

