(Hurricane) Caramel Popcorn

I was almost certain that the only thing worse than being unemployed was being unemployed and being forced to live at home with your parents in the middle of nowhere. But boy oh boy was I so wrong. Turns out, being unemployed and being forced to live at home with your parents in the middle of nowhere without power or heat for 12 days (and still counting…) is way, way worse.

That’s right folks due to Hurricane Sandy and her bitch-ass cousin Winter Storm Athena I’ve been living in an icebox. Thankfully we have hot water and a gas stove so I’ve been able to cook here and there. By now we’ve gotten rid of all the food in our house that has gone bad, but earlier on the week when we still had some refrigerated items in a cooler I was able to make this caramel popcorn.

Initially I tried a number of different ways to make the caramel. Two of the attempts involved corn syrup and sugar. This was a disaster and I burned my arm. Do not do this. (Meaning the corn syrup. Ditto the arm burning.)

On my third attempt I finally decided to use the butter and heavy cream in my fridge and came up with a deeeelicious caramel sauce to drizzle on top of my popcorn. The results were fantastic!

Caramel Popcorn

Ingredients

1 cup unpopped popcorn
2 cups brown sugar
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

cooking by lantern light

no microwave means popping your popcorn the old fashioned way

Combine the butter, cream, and sugar in a pot and stir over medium heat until melted. Stir constantly ensuring it is well mixed. Then bring the mixture to a boil and boil for one minute. Stir in the vanilla extract.

Whip the sauce for 3 minutes to make it thicken. Then pour out popcorn on a baking sheet and pour the caramel sauce on top. (Good luck trying not to make a mess…) You can either wait for the popcorn to dry/harden which is what I did because my oven wasn’t working. Or, if you do have a working oven, bake it at 250° for about 20 minutes occasionally mixing it around to make sure that it doesn’t burn.

Leave a Reply

