PUMPKIN WEEK…a week late

I tried to come up with a Hurricane Sandy pun appropriate to cooking and therefore, this blog, in order to make light of the situation I’m dealing with. But the only thing I could up come with was a Hurricane Sandy-wich, and unfortunately it doesn’t even have anything to do with this entry. Hurricane Sandy ruining things for me will be a recurring theme in my blog and the next few to follow…

For those of you out there dealing with the aftermath of Sandy – I feel your pain and I wish you all good luck! My town wasn’t hit as badly as others,  but there was flooding and my house has been without power or heat for the past 8 days – hence why my post is super late, frozen, and writing this blog in the corner of a library fighting off the other nomads in my town going from charger to charger wherever we can find one.

I’m just gonna bite the bullet and say what we’ve all been thinking: This Hurricane really BLOWS.

(Pun intended.)

It sucks for all of the obvious reasons. Freezing during the day, freezing even more at night, worrying about family and friends, not having gas, no food…I could go on. But it also sucks for other important reasons. For me, well, I missed PUMPKIN WEEK.

I can’t even believe it happened. I was so excited! I wore my pumpkin hat and my pumpkin shirt. I even put on my pumpkin socks and sang pumpkin songs around my kitchen in preparation. (Just to clarify, none of this happened. Well, in my head it did.)

So here is my belated PUMPKIN WEEK entry, better later than never.

Martha Stewart Pumpkin Cupcake Recipe

For my first PUMPKIN WEEK entry I made pumpkin cupcakes. (It will end up being my only PUMPKIN WEEK post, but little did I know back then that Sandy would ruin everything and make me cry frozen tears every night for the next 8 days.) But back when things were good and I could go on the internet, I made Martha Stewart’s Pumpkin Cupcakes – and boy does Martha know a thing or two about pumpkins. THESE CUPCAKES WERE SO GOOD. You all must go make them now.

I followed her recipe exactly except that I made a regular vanilla icing. To pipe it I put it in a plastic Ziploc bag and used a piping tip. This made the icing look pretty not to mention I felt awfully fancy doing it.  Though, if you don’t have these materials a good ole’ knife to spread on your icing will work just as well too. If you are able to use fresh pumpkin puree like Taylor, you should. But if you’re like me and lazy, canned pumpkin puree is a great substitute.

Vanilla Icing Recipe

2 tablespoons confectioners sugar
2 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons heavy cream or milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Whip all the ingredients together…and eat!

2 thoughts on “PUMPKIN WEEK…a week late

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Pancakes! « latte issues

  2. Pingback: Finally Fall | latte issues

Leave a Reply

