There’s Always Money in the Banana…Bread?

Now that I’m unemployed and living at home, I find myself with a lot of time on my hands. So in order to avoid going completely insane I have to find ways to keep myself busy. When I’m not applying to jobs or teaching myself useless tasks using Youtube, (now I can juggle! and do an Irish accent!) I like to watch my favorite television shows online. As a drama major I can write this off as part of my craft, seeing as it is important for me to be up to date on all the latest shows, of course. So I’ve been re-watching one of my favorite television shows “Arrested Development.”

For all you fans out there, I was inspired to make banana bread because of the Bluth’s famous banana stand.  (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TlTM7Mbk_SU) This recipe is one of the first things I ever baked by myself so it has a special place in my heart. It’s from a cookbook aptly titled “My First Cookbook.” The page with the recipe on it has fallen out and has so much old nasty dried banana on it, you can definitely tell that this recipe is a family favorite.

Banana Nut Bread

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter
2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup  sugar
2 eggs
3 very ripe bananas
2 tablespoons sour cream
1 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Evenly butter loaf pan (8 1/2 by 4 1/2 inches). Mix flour, baking soda, and salt. Place 1/2 cup butter and the sugar in the large mixing bowl and beat with the electric mixer until pale and creamy. Add eggs.  Add flour mixture and beat until smooth. Peel bananas and break into large chunks. Add bananas and sour cream to batter and mix until smooth. Add walnuts at the lowest speed until evenly distributed throughout batter. Bake for 1 hour and 10 minutes. Look to see if the bread has shrunk away from the sides of the pan. If it hasn’t bake for another 10 minutes.

2 thoughts on “There’s Always Money in the Banana…Bread?

  1. Warm fresh banana bread straight from the oven, a piping hot cup of coffee and a snow storm outside….perfect winter recipe 🙂 Thanks for sharing, gotta go make some now!

  2. Pingback: This Sh*! is B-a-n-a-n-a-s | latte issues

Leave a Reply

